Tours, Saturday 14 September 2013, 3pm and 4.30pm
Built in the late 19th century, The Albion is Chester’s last unspoilt Victorian public house dedicated to the Great War. Many items of memorabilia are housed in the bar including a 1928 Pianola Steck, which can be played on request.
The Albion is a short walk from the Drill Hall built by James Harrison in 1868. It was used as a recruiting centre for the First World War. Many a young lad would have spent his King’s shilling in the bar of the Albion before going to face the horrors of the Western Front. The building was converted into flats in 1983, but visitors can view the Grade II listed facade which has been retained.
Tours of the pub, as part of Heritage Open Days on 14 September, are led by the licensee Mike Mercer. 10 places on each tour. Booking essential,